16/52

 “A [wo]man who has not been in Italy, is always conscious of an inferiority.” ― Samuel Jackson

Florence may be my new favourite city. Don’t get me wrong, I’m completely in love with London but their food stinks. And they definitely don’t know how to make a good pizza.

For the past 5 years, my parents have done nothing but rave about their favourite restaurant in Italy, Il Profeta and let me tell you, it was worth every penny euro. This, quite possibly, was the best meal I have ever had.

I can’t express how badly I want a bagel. As I continue travelling from place to place, eating nothing but the finest food, there is nothing I want more than a bagel with lox and cream cheese. I have dreams about bagels. Yes, it’s come to this. You can experience life in different cities and new countries but there’s always certain things you’ll miss about home. This however, would explain our excitement in finding New York style (as they called it) bagels in the middle of Florence. They stand nowhere close to the excellence of Montreal bagels, but it was able to do the trick. Still, my first breakfast back home is going to be at Bagel World.

Tempio Maggiore Israelitico di Firenze or The Great Synagogue of Florence is the most gorgeous place of worship (from my perspective of course) that I have ever stepped foot in. I’ve been to temples in Curaçao, Barbados, Canada, Barcelona, Amsterdam and Venice but this one has a beauty of no compare. It doesn’t matter your religion, this is a place to see.

If the idea of seeing Michelangelo’s David doesn’t impress you I’m not sure what will (although I’m an artist so I guess we could have different ideas of what impressive means). Located in the Accademia Gallery, the statue of David is a masterpiece. He also has a really cute butt. Aside from that, I am fascinated by these statues that people were able to hand sculpt out of marble. That thought alone leaves me mind boggled.

One of the things Jillian really wanted to do was go to the Gucci Museum. That Gucci. I bought a Gucci leather postcard in the gift shop partially because it was cute and partially because it was the only thing I could afford.

After an incredible first trip through Ireland, Spain and Italy it was finally time for a two day break back in London (to sleep and do laundry) before heading out to Portugal and France. I literally did nothing but sleep so we’re going to skip right ahead…

Sarah and I flew into Lisbon, the capital of Portugal. Filled with orange roof buildings, it gives the city colour. The most remarkable view can be seen from São Jorge Castle, a Moorish castle occupying a hilltop that looks over the entire Portuguese city.

Everywhere I’ve been and everything I’ve seen thus far have held beauty different from the last. All beauties that dream to be discovered.

Love Always,
xo Melissa

Leave a Reply

